Time to Put on Your Certainty Sunshades….

Ever see or hear something a few times in the same day, so you know it was a message for you? Today I saw a verse that not only is for me, but may help others, too! It is as follows:

“What is faith? It is the confident assurance that something we want is going to happen. It is the certainty that what we hope for is waiting for us, even though we cannot see it up ahead.”-Hebrews 11:1

This passage really spoke to me. Lately, I’ve been feeling like my dreams are far away, and it’s like once I start to moving toward what I know the Lord has for me, something happens to push me a few steps back. Yesterday, I was on my horse and ready to move in the direction I was excited to go, until I spoke with a friend who brought up all the cons to what I had been building myself up to do. My excitement quickly dwindled as what appeared to be my “reality check from an expert in the field” sunk in. I then remembered reading in an interview that Beyonce’ once said, “I only allow myself one day to feel sorry for myself…When I’m not feeling my best, I ask myself ‘what are you gonna do about it’ I use the negativity to fuel the transformation into a better me” (Complex Magazine, July 2011). That’s exactly what I did…well, first I prayed and shared with the Lord my thoughts about how I feel like sometimes my life is in the same spot and not moving anywhere, and then, I forced myself to get back into the groove of what I was striving to achieve (my mini goal of the day). The task to live our dreams may seem daunting, and sometimes overwhelming if we only focus on the present. But, if we remind ourselves of the true meanings of faith and hope, we recognize how each day is a stepping stone closer to getting there!

Today, after seeing the passage from Hebrews, I thanked the Lord for it, and asked him for “daily bread.” Recently, I heard at church that sometimes, if we’re at a place in life where we don’t even know what exactly to pray for, God already knows what we need (before we even kneel down to pray sometimes). Therefore, by simply saying “daily bread” he can supply any and everything we need. After praying for daily bread, I ran an errand and came across a picture that had the very same scripture. I couldn’t believe it! I see God WAS listening, and it reminded me that God has us in seasons sometimes, that are not always comfortable, just so that when we do get to a place of living our wants and dreams, we can thank him for bringing us to the new territory. Until then, put on your certainty sunshades so you can look past the present and only towards things that will be certain in your life (ie. all your hopes and dreams)!

 

*P.S. Did I mention, I took a note of the same passage two weeks ago at church…I guess they say “3rd times a charm” for a reason..(now that I’ve officially committed it to memory)!

2 thoughts on “Time to Put on Your Certainty Sunshades….

Leave a Reply

